Garlicky Garbanzo Enchiladas

So, I didn’t really grow up eating enchiladas much, but since I’ve been married I’ve made them a few times, and I really like them. I found this recipe some time back, made some adaptations, and it’s my favourite one that I’ve tried. So I’m going to share with you what I’ve changed about it so you can enjoy it too!

Start with:
1 16-oz jar of green salsa (I like Herdez brand because it has no vinegar, since vinegar is a real irritant for me!)

Spread half of the salsa (1 cup) into the bottom of a 13×9″ pan.

Green salsa

How is it that something so tasty looks so much like pond slime?

Saute in a little oil:
1/2 c chopped onion
4-8 large crushed garlic cloves (depending on how much you love it! I prefer 5-6 cloves myself)

Onions and garlic

Turn off heat and stir in:
2 cups smushed garbanzos
1/3 c vegetable broth of your choice – I usually just throw a little Vegeta in water for mine.
1 tsp salt
2 Tbsp mock chicken seasoning

Garbanzo filling

Optionally add in:

extra salsa
onion powder
garlic powder

Roll filling into:
10-12 tortillas (the package I used in this batch had 11 tortillas)

Roll about 3tbsp of the filling into each tortilla. This appeared like not much to me as I was doing it this last time, but it seemed like plenty once the stuff was actually baked. You could totally double the filling recipe if you want to have more.

Place your rolled-up tortillas into the pan. Cover with remaining salsa. Bake 35 minutes or so at 350.

More green salsa

You can add cheese to the top (real if you’re not vegan, cashew or soy substitute if you are). I poured a (rather liquidy) bean-based cheese sauce on top of this batch.

And then when it came out of the oven, I ate it.

Yum.

Categories: entrees, nut-free, recipes, vegan | Tags: , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Garlicky Garbanzo Enchiladas

  1. Sounds really yummy!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Eva Reads Books

gloriously daft, full of bookish nonsense

In the Soup Together

A "Black Dove White Raven" Fansite

declare the causes

i will tell the world

Creative Wending

cooking, crochet, and a few things inbetween

The World of YA

a podcast by and for YA readers

Vegan Needs

Vegan Lifestyle. Vegan beauty, Food, Reviews & More

the taste space

steam, bake, boil, shake!

Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

Plant-Based Food and Other Stories

The Vegan Cookbook Aficionado

Compassionate Eating For Everyone

veganinbrighton

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Storyfied Blog

we're all just stories in the end

Mostly Bliss

The healthiest response to life is joy

Eat.Plants.Live.

...a movement for living food and loving life

