Not on the Topic of Cooking

And today I’m going to take a break from food talk, just because it’s my blog and I can, and because I’m about to bombard you with almost-daily food posts all October.

So, let’s talk about thrift stores.

I didn’t grow up with a thrift-storing mom. Sometimes we’d go and look around, but the stores always stunk and we seldom came away with anything except occasionally a newborn-size baby dress for one of my stuffed animals to wear, or something like that. Just wasn’t our thing.

When I was in my early 20s I worked at a fabric store right next door to a Goodwill and I started stopping in there a lot on my way to or from work and got in the habit of buying records and books there and sometimes clothes and often shoes. But it was after I got married that I really started to fall in love with thrift stores.

The stores do tend to stink, and some are definitely more trashy than others. They aren’t always a guarantee of good deals, either. Still, when you consider that generally you’ll be paying more even at Walmart, the thrift store prices look pretty good. There is something very satisfying about the Thrill of the Hunt and Bragging Rights Gained by Finding a New Toddler Dress for a Dollar.

My most-frequented spots in the Willamette Valley area:

  • Teen Challenge’s thrift stores in Albany and Lebanon, especially the one in Lebanon, because they have a bin of baby/toddler clothes for 49 cents a piece. I’ve gotten a LOT of things for my girls out of that bin.
  • Jack and Jill in Albany in the past was one of my favourite places to go, but after the owner was found guilty of racketeering I have decided not to patronise her store any more. It’s a pity, because she had a nice selection and pretty reasonable prices. Many of my favourite clothes for GooGoo came from here.
  • Mother Goose Resale is another really nice place. The prices aren’t really particularly low, but the clothes are in good shape and the Albany location particularly has a great rack of maternity clothes. The Lebanon location is new but I’ve found some super cute stuff there and they did have a 50-cent rack at least one time when I went there, and I hear that they bought Replay in Corvallis and will be reopening that as a new Mother Goose location.
  • I check Goodwill fairly often but especially in Corvallis the prices on almost everything are pretty steep for a thrift store. I do find some stuff there sometimes but generally more for me and not so much for my girls.

Do you go to thrift stores or yard sales? Where are your favourite places?

Categories: Mrs Pine Nut | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Not on the Topic of Cooking

  1. I love thrift stores, and I pretty much avoid the Goodwill unless I’m after furniture. And that I usually find on Craigslist. Though I have been lucky with furniture before.

    Anyhow, I like Deseret Industries in Clackamas; it is so neat and organized and has really good prices, all rounded to the dollar, and it doesn’t smell bad. I wrote a blog post on it, so anyone wanting to know my full opinion can go hunt for it.

    I also like what used to be Volunteers of America, and is now Thrift It. I think it is technically in Portland, but it’s fairly close to Gresham. It also has lower prices.

    I have gotten a few good things at the Goodwill Outlet in Hillsboro. One of my favorite skirts came from there, as well as most of my exercise clothing. A few pairs of pants for Manny, a shirt and some dresses for Laine… At about $1.58 a pound. Too bad Hillsboro is so far away now!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Eva Reads Books

gloriously daft, full of bookish nonsense

In the Soup Together

A "Black Dove White Raven" Fansite

declare the causes

i will tell the world

Creative Wending

cooking, crochet, and a few things inbetween

The World of YA

a podcast by and for YA readers

Vegan Needs

Vegan Lifestyle. Vegan beauty, Food, Reviews & More

the taste space

steam, bake, boil, shake!

Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

Plant-Based Food and Other Stories

The Vegan Cookbook Aficionado

Compassionate Eating For Everyone

veganinbrighton

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Storyfied Blog

we're all just stories in the end

Mostly Bliss

The healthiest response to life is joy

Eat.Plants.Live.

...a movement for living food and loving life

