Vegan MoFo #9: Florentine Salad

florentine salad

Gleaming green, crisp, and tangy. Read on.

I have to confess, I’m really not a salad-making person. Or a person who makes just veggies. I’m a person who generally tends to mix up everything in one pan and serve it up, like a soup, or a  stir-fry or a curry, that includes greens and veggies and protein all in one. But when we have fresh greens, it’s nice to have a salad, and I must admit my imagination kind of sputters out when it comes to salads.

We don’t have any fresh greens from the garden right now except kale, which I’m still learning to like (I know, what kind of vegan doesn’t like kale?), so I had to buy the spinach this recipe called for. Spinach I have gotten to like quite well, shockingly enough, being the person notorious for Not Wanting to Eat Leaves.

I purposely picked several salad and veggie recipes out of the cookbook just to learn some new ideas. This salad is actually really quite good. The lemon juice gives it tang, the garlic gives it zip, the bright green leaves are a pow of colour (Tang! Zip! Pow! This starts to sound like a Batman comic.)

Anyway, I was pleased. I left the tofu out of mine and replaced it with more bacon crumbles, because I didn’t want to thaw out a whole block of tofu just for the little bit required. But next time I have fresh or thawed tofu handy at the same time I have spinach, I’ll probably add it in. I also left my garlic mincings in the oil, because I’m too lazy to fish it out of the oil a little raw garlic never hurt anyone.

This recipe was originally found on page 132 of the 1978 Betty Crocker cookbook.

1 clove garlic, slivered
1/4 c finely cubed tofu (this is to replace the egg in the original recipe and is optional)
4 T oil
1/4 c lemon juice
1/4 tsp salt
12 oz spinach, torn if desired
1 T bacon crumbles

Let garlic and tofu stand in oil 1 hour; discard garlic (if desired). Mix oil, lemon juice, salt in salad bowl. Add spinach and toss until leaves are well coated. Sprinkle with tofu and bacon; toss.

Categories: challenges, lunch, nut-free, recipes, salads, vegan, vegan mofo, vegan mofo 2012, vegetables | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo #9: Florentine Salad

  1. coldandsleepy2

    Mmmm. I’m not much of a salad eater either but I love spinach.

    Kale took me forever to learn to like, but then one day I realized that in the right context, I love it. Keep chewing, maybe that day will come for you too, ha ha.

    Like

  2. coldandsleepy2

    Also, is it just me, or was BC like the original “let’s put bacon in everything!” cookbook?

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Eva Reads Books

gloriously daft, full of bookish nonsense

In the Soup Together

A "Black Dove White Raven" Fansite

declare the causes

i will tell the world

Creative Wending

cooking, crochet, and a few things inbetween

The World of YA

a podcast by and for YA readers

Vegan Needs

Vegan Lifestyle. Vegan beauty, Food, Reviews & More

the taste space

steam, bake, boil, shake!

Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

Plant-Based Food and Other Stories

The Vegan Cookbook Aficionado

Compassionate Eating For Everyone

veganinbrighton

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Storyfied Blog

we're all just stories in the end

Mostly Bliss

The healthiest response to life is joy

Eat.Plants.Live.

...a movement for living food and loving life

