Virtual Vegan Potluck: Arroz sin leche

This is my first time participating in Virtual Vegan Potluck! I was stumped what to make for a while that would be easy but tasty. One of my friends on Facebook who is Peruvian suggested I do arroz con leche (rice pudding).

Since I’ve never made a rice pudding and a quick Google search showed me I had all the basic ingredients to make it, that’s what I’ve brought to the table for this virtual potluck. I added a few little twists of my own, such as cranberries instead of raisins, and, of course, without actual milk. πŸ™‚

rice pudding

Autumnal Rice Pudding

In a saucepan, stir together the following:

3 c cooked brown rice
3 T sweetener (I just used plain sugar)
3 T vegan margarine
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp cloves
3/4 c non-dairy milk (I used soy, but any will do)
2 tsp vanilla
1/4 c dried cranberries (you could use other dried fruit)
Pinch salt

Heat to boiling and simmer, stirring occasionally, for about 10 minutes (more or less depending on the consistency you’re going for). Mine was thick enough to be moulded.

Serve with a dash of nutmeg, walnuts, and extra cranberries for garnish if desired.

Return to An Unrefined Vegan * On to Veggie V’s Vegan Adventure

Categories: dessert, nut-free, recipes, vegan, virtual vegan potluck | Tags: , , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “Virtual Vegan Potluck: Arroz sin leche

  1. I love rice pudding and this looks fantastic!

    Like

  2. A perfect fall dessert!

    Like

  3. Nothing comforts like rice pudding – this looks like creamy goodness! Thank you for participating in the Potluck!

    Like

  4. I love rice pudding and your presentation is wonderful! Thank you!

    Like

  5. Food Stories

    Just making my way through the VVP & wanted to say hey πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Makes me want to replace my usual oatmeal routine! Looks delicious!

    Like

  7. This recipe looks wonderful! Thanks for posting. πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. This looks lovely! I love rice pudding.

    Like

  9. Wow they look fantastic! Great idea – a must try πŸ™‚
    Thank you!

    Like

  10. A Tablespoon of Liz

    yum, I love rice pudding, and yours looks amazing! I haven’t had it in such a long time, thanks for posting this recipe!

    Like

  11. We make something similar…. and eat it for breakfast! Too irresistible!

    Like

  12. I have never made rice pudding before, but this looks delicious!

    Like

  13. So simple and perfect for fall. I’ve never had a rice pudding but I want some now!

    Like

  14. I’ve never tried rice pudding before but this looks amazing! I think it’s time!!

    Like

  15. Oh, and LOVE the name of your blog, haha!

    Like

  16. I have never made rice pudding before…but this recipe looks so good, I am definitely going to try it. Thank you (and your friend) for the recipe.

    Like

  17. Delicious! One of my childhood’s favourites desserts, mmmhh πŸ™‚

    Like

  18. Mmmm. Arroz con leche is a staple in my community. The ice cream parlor downtown even has it as an ice cream flavor!

    Like

  19. i love the spiced up pudding!

    Like

  20. MMMM! I love your brown rice sweet risotto here! Yum!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

In the Soup Together

A "Black Dove White Raven" Fansite

declare the causes

i will tell the world

Creative Wending

cooking, crochet, and a few things inbetween

The World of YA

a podcast by and for YA readers

Vegan Needs

Vegan Lifestyle. Vegan beauty, Food, Reviews & More

the taste space

steam, bake, boil, shake!

Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

Plant-Based Food and Other Stories

The Vegan Cookbook Aficionado

Compassionate Eating For Everyone

Made of Stars

Simply vegan

veganinbrighton

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Storyfied Blog

we're all just stories in the end

Mostly Bliss

The healthiest response to life is joy

Eat.Plants.Live.

...a movement for living food and loving life

