Bonfire Party

In the spring of 2012, I decided we needed to host a bonfire. It was such a good success that I decided to attempt to replicate this year.

GooGoo sings while she and Lou Who watch Daddy put in a path for Mommy.

GooGoo sings while she and Lou Who watch Daddy put in a path for Mommy prior to guests arriving.

As per usual, I’d been planning for months in advance. I finally settled on a Mexican-ish theme: chili beans, Brasilian rice, green salad, corn muffins, and Mexican chocolate snickerdoodles (with some gingersnaps for the Mex. choc. snick.-phobes). I was anticipating possibly around 50 people to show up, so I quintupled the cornbread recipe. My gigantinormous Mennonite popcorn bowl was used both for that and the huge batch of beans I cooked up.

Flowers from our property (except the forsythia)

Flowers all came from our property (except the forsythia)

I always cook too much food. I think this stems from the fact that Mr Pine Nut and I eat a lot. Like, a very much lot. I make a 13×9 of baked oatmeal and we decimate the entire pan, just the two of us. I had to start making a batch and a half just so there’d be enough for GooGoo. I make a batch (sometimes double) of scones or muffins and we eat them all or mostly all. So, I assume that everyone else is as much a whirling vortex of food consumption as we, and therefore I end up perplexed when we end up with two huge pots of chili beans and enough Brasilian rice to last us the rest of our lives, not to mention the cookies and cornbread and salad. I think we had 29 people show up, which was more than last year, but not quite enough to eliminate all the food I made.

10190_10152724815815253_1838736588_n

At any rate, everyone liked the food and we had an absolutely gorgeous day for everyone to not just be outside, but to ENJOY being outside, and then we lit the fire and all stood around it as one does.

165406_10152724819950253_1402161721_n

18718_10152724820085253_511568893_n

The sun went down and people went home, but the fire burned on and then smouldered throughout the night and in the morning everything was just a memory. But there’ll be another one next spring, I hope!

sig

Categories: entertaining | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Bonfire Party

  1. Pingback: The Nonfire | Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

Share Your Thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

declare the causes

i will tell the world

Creative Wending

cooking, crochet, and a few things inbetween

The World of YA

a podcast by and for YA readers

Vegan Needs

Vegan Lifestyle. Vegan beauty, Food, Reviews & More

the taste space

steam, bake, boil, shake!

Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

Plant-Based Food and Other Stories

The Vegan Cookbook Aficionado

Compassionate Eating For Everyone

Made of Stars

Simply vegan

veganinbrighton

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Storyfied Blog

we're all just stories in the end

Mostly Bliss

The healthiest response to life is joy

Eat.Plants.Live.

...a movement for living food and loving life

Recipe for Going Vegan

Vegan recipes for those new to vegan cooking

SISTER LEGUMES

Vegan sisters, a city apart

