Vegan Blog Challenge 2013, Week 1: Vegan Richa

Note: I’m having issues with the photos in this post. In the process of trying to fix it!

At the time you’re reading this, I’m camping. I started this vegan blog challenge a week early because of that, and then after I am home I can be on track with everyone else.

The first blog in the challenge is Vegan Richa. I love Indian food and there were a lot of recipes I thought looked tasty, but I had to choose ones that I could make with stuff I already had. Thankfully there were several and the three I finally chose were Cranberry Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies, Potatoes With Whole Spices, and Tempeh Chickpea Fritter Patty Burgers.

cookies

Yum!

Cranberry Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

I did the nut butter (almond butter) with melted vegan margarine, because I didn’t have any more oil; cinnamon and cloves; and for my stir-ins I did sliced almonds and cranberries.

They were really good. Very filling (which didn’t stop me from eating 4) and had a nice crunch to them. The recipe made 8 cookies for me.

potatoes

Prepping the potatoes

Steaming spicy spuds

Steaming spicy spuds

Potatoes With Whole Spices

These were really… spicy. It was already a hot evening and thanks to these potatoes I had sweat running down my face in rivers. It was so attractive. My husband tasted one cube of potato, as did GooGoo. He said, “One was enough.” GooGoo said, “Yuck. I don’ like it.”

I would leave out the chili flakes next time. Or at least reduce them. I like food of a toasty warmth, not an inferno in my mouth. But they were very simple to make.

I reheated the leftovers the next day and mixed in some cashew cream (just plain cashews/water) to try to tone down the heat a bit. While the potatoes were still spicy, they were not nearly as intense as when they were first made! I liked it a lot with the creamy sauce.

Frying it up in the pan

Frying up the tempeh fritters in the pan

My yummy sandwich.

My yummy sandwich.

Tempeh Chickpea Fritter Patty Burgers

In deference to my heat-disdaining family, I subbed the chili flakes with mild chili powder. GooGoo ate a little, but both Mr Pine Nut and me found this to be amazingly tasty. We had it on buns with mixed fresh greens from our garden. I will definitely make this again.

So, that’s my foray into the blog of Vegan Richa. Overall I was very pleased with what I tried and will be very likely to go back and try more of her recipes!

sig

Categories: challenges, vegan blog challenge 2013 | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Share Your Thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

In the Soup Together

A "Black Dove White Raven" Fansite

declare the causes

i will tell the world

Creative Wending

cooking, crochet, and a few things inbetween

The World of YA

a podcast by and for YA readers

Vegan Needs

Vegan Lifestyle. Vegan beauty, Food, Reviews & More

the taste space

steam, bake, boil, shake!

Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

Plant-Based Food and Other Stories

The Vegan Cookbook Aficionado

Compassionate Eating For Everyone

Made of Stars

Simply vegan

veganinbrighton

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Storyfied Blog

we're all just stories in the end

Mostly Bliss

The healthiest response to life is joy

Eat.Plants.Live.

...a movement for living food and loving life

