Vegan Blog Challenge 2013, Week 4: FatFree Vegan

When I was first starting to dabble in vegan cooking 4-ish years ago, my husband found some recipe on FatFree Vegan he wanted me to try. I have no idea now what it was. I do remember trying her macaroni and cheese recipe and not particularly liking it. But I have a feeling it was due to using, oh, vanilla soy milk. I was a total newbie to all of this, after all.

A few weeks ago when I was browsing the blogs chosen for the challenge and deciding what I wanted to make, this blog had tons of stuff that appealed to me. I had a list of 13 recipes I would potentially try (including a second try at the mac and cheese), and these are the ones I’ve ended up doing.

Pineapple Coffee Cake

Pineapple Coffee Cake

Pineapple Coffee Cake

I cut the sugar in half since it had sugar sprinkled on top, and it was plenty sweet. And, of course, there was no oil. It was a really yummy cake and definitely something I’d make again.

Curried Chickpeas and Kale

Curried Chickpeas and Kale

Curried Chickpeas and Kale

On a whim I made a double batch of this. I did mostly kale (dino and Russian), but I also used a couple gigantic collard leaves and some broccoli greens. Astounding how much greens cook down. As I was putting in the seasonings, the cardamom smelled SO overpowering and I was all, “I’m NOT going to like this,” – but ya know, it wasn’t really noticeable while actually eating it. It was there but it was fine. I liked it a lot – sauteed greens are the only way I can really get much greenery into me that’s not lettuce or spinach – and so did Mr Pine Nut. I ate it on toast and it was very nice. I’m not sure it’s something that’ll go onto my regular menu rotation, but it was definitely great to have a good curry flavour without a bunch of heat.

Cherry Chocolate Mousse Pie

I was a little amused at the comment that chocolate mousse is the first dessert new vegan cooks master. For me that wasn’t true. I had no trouble at all veganising all my old favourite cookie recipes with margarine and Ener-G egg replacer in the early days of my veg cooking, so I was on a roll with that. I have no clue what my first non-cookie vegan dessert would have been, but it wasn’t chocolate mousse (or wacky cake). In fact, I’ve never *had* chocolate mousse in my life, vegan or otherwise. My mom used to make chocolate pie and I turned up my nose at it (I know, what was my PROBLEM?)

So I guess it’s high time I tuck the experience of VEGAN CHOCOLATE MOUSSE under my belt. This was a ridiculously simple recipe to make and it is SO DELICIOUS. Intensely chocolatey. I didn’t have agave, so I used dilute molasses with a little white sugar thrown in, and I added a pinch of salt just because I was worried that there was none called for. I used a chocolate graham cracker crust and it’s so, so yummy. Did I mention it’s awesome? BECAUSE IT IS. I may or may not have eaten a quarter of the pie after lunch today.

Oh, and it was gone before I could take a picture.

Mac and trees

Mac and trees

As for the mac and cheese, I tried that again today. I had it as mac and trees, with some random broccoli Mr Pine Nut had picked and left on the counter. I liked it much better than I remember liking it before. My own mac and cheese recipe is still my preferred, but as she says, we’ve all got our favourite.

Finally, I made the seitan veggeroni. 

Seitan Veggeroni

Seitan Veggeroni

It’s delicious and very spicy, at least the slice I had. I can’t wait to make a pizza with it.

All in all, I am super happy with everything I’ve tried on this blog. I plan to come back and use some of these again as well as try new ones.

sig

Categories: challenges, vegan blog challenge 2013 | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Vegan Blog Challenge 2013, Week 4: FatFree Vegan

  1. May I ask what is the Vegan Blog Challenge 2013? Otherwise congrats blogging about vegan dishes 🙂 I have also tried FatFree Vegan’s Mac n’ Cheeze and I sort of modified her recipe on my blog, too. I, too, did not like her dish at all, it doesn’t taste like mac n’ cheeze, but it is intended to be fat-free. I can’t imagine doing fat-free dishes everyday as long as you eat healthy, like healthy fat 🙂 Your Seitan Veggeroni looks so good, I have to make my own seitan someday soon, but I never did, hehe! And I bet it is great on pizzas or even philly steaks sandwiches! x

    Like

    • The blog challenge is something going on at the Post Punk Kitchen forums. I think I linked to it once but have been too lazy to link to it again :-p It’s been fun!

      My daughter loved the “cheese”, as she called it. She’s never had real mac and cheese except maybe once when very little, so she doesn’t have anything to compare it to. I was glad she enjoyed it anyway!

      Like

  2. Fat Free Vegan was the first vegan website I stumbled upon when I first went vegan, I’m not really into the whole fat-free thing but her recipes are great! She’s the reason I now know what nutritional yeast is. I really want to try that Seitan Veggeroni!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

declare the causes

i will tell the world

Creative Wending

cooking, crochet, and a few things inbetween

The World of YA

a podcast by and for YA readers

Vegan Needs

Vegan Lifestyle. Vegan beauty, Food, Reviews & More

the taste space

steam, bake, boil, shake!

Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

Plant-Based Food and Other Stories

The Vegan Cookbook Aficionado

Compassionate Eating For Everyone

Made of Stars

Simply vegan

veganinbrighton

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Storyfied Blog

we're all just stories in the end

Mostly Bliss

The healthiest response to life is joy

Eat.Plants.Live.

...a movement for living food and loving life

Recipe for Going Vegan

Vegan recipes for those new to vegan cooking

SISTER LEGUMES

Vegan sisters, a city apart

