Vegan Month of Food, Day 2: Pumpkin-Apple Waffle Sandwich

I love waffles. Really, really love them. Having waffles was always a big event in my house growing up. I remember my mom pulling out her 12″ round Belgian waffle iron (it had no divisions, so you got the whole waffle to yourself). She would whip up the egg whites and everything else and we would eat the waffles as fast as they came off the iron, my mom usually not getting one herself until we’d all had ours. Sometimes we had sliced strawberries, but usually my choice was just a little drizzle of maple syrup on top. I usually ate two or three.

Waffles were one of the first things I learned how to make vegan, thanks to Ener-G egg replacer. I know I’ve already posted my vegan waffle recipe, but I’ve modified it a bit and here it is all gussied up ready to be munched down.

pumpkin-waffle

To make waffles, begin with flax egg:
3/4 c hot water+1/4 c ground flaxseed

Set aside to gel.

In one bowl, combine:
3 cups whole wheat flour
1 c white flour
1 T baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp nutmeg

In another bowl, combine:
2 c non-dairy milk
1 1/2 c water
1 c pumpkin puree
2 T molasses

Add dry ingredients and flax egg to wet ingredients and stir vigourously until smooth.

Then fold in:
1 cup finely diced apple

This made me 3 waffles (or 12, if you count the individual squares in a big one). It took about 9 minutes to cook on my iron.

As to what to put in your sandwich, that’s entirely up to you. You could put on a layer of thinly sliced apples, drizzle some maple syrup or molasses, make a berry sauce…

Or you could do what I did. I had a quart of chunky applesauce my mother-in-law made, which I mixed with a little of my own regular applesauce and a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg and warmed in a saucepan. So I made a waffle-applesauce double-decker sandwichlike thing. And then I sprinkled walnuts on top. Yum.

Tomorrow: a crockpot dish.

sig

Categories: breakfast, brunch, challenges, nut-free, oil-free, recipes, vegan, vegan mofo, vegan mofo 2013 | Tags: , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Vegan Month of Food, Day 2: Pumpkin-Apple Waffle Sandwich

  1. Waffles are one of my all time favorite foods, I have my mom’s old iron too but I don’t use it because it’s teflon and I’m scared šŸ™‚ I have to get a new one and try your recipe, it looks great!

    Like

    • We got one our first Christmas together (new, teflon) and it already bit the dust. No matter how much we’d grease it, the waffles just stuck! So we got a vintage one from the thrift store (still teflon), and it is fantastic and has given us no problems aside from its hideous avocado green colour.

      I’d like to get a cast iron wafflemaker. I’m just terrified of cast iron!

      Like

  2. Woah! Waffle sandwich?! You’re a genius! I would totally fill mine with some stewed fruit.

    Like

  3. That looks wonderful! I recently got a new waffle iron and we’ve been stuffing ourselves.

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

declare the causes

i will tell the world

Creative Wending

cooking, crochet, and a few things inbetween

The World of YA

a podcast by and for YA readers

Vegan Needs

To Help you transition to the Vegan Lifestyle. Vegan beauty, Food, Reviews & More

the taste space

steam, bake, boil, shake!

Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

Plant-Based Food and Other Stories

The Vegan Cookbook Aficionado

Compassionate Eating For Everyone

Made of Stars

Simply vegan

veganinbrighton

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Storyfied Blog

we're all just stories in the end

Mostly Bliss

The healthiest response to life is joy

Eat.Plants.Live.

...a movement for living food and loving life

Recipe for Going Vegan

Vegan recipes for those new to vegan cooking

SISTER LEGUMES

Vegan sisters, a city apart

