Vegan Month of Food, Day 3: Company Stew

This stew, like many other recipes on this blog, is inspired by a favourite comfort food of my childhood.

One Sunday lunch we were at some friends’ to eat with them, and the lady of the house served us Company Stew. Later, whilst visiting, my mom wrote down the recipe, accidentally leaving out the “p” (she added it in afterwards) because she was busy talking while writing. So “Comany Stew” I used to always call it.

But Comany or Company, it was always a favourite. Except for the time my dad made it and put in a crazy amount of black pepper and that day it was Pepper Stew. And rather unpalatable. But usually it was amazing, and there is really nothing lovelier than coming home from church to the delicious aroma of cooking food.

My Boxcar Children stew was modelled closely after this recipe, but this time I’m trying to replicate the actual Company Stew instead of Jessie’s stew, so it’s a tad different. Because you layer the ingredients while it’s cooking, this TOTALLY COUNTS as a legit Layered Food. 🙂 While the original stew baked in the oven, I have chosen to go the crockpot route, and have found that the results are pretty good if not quite as browned as the oven method.

This took me about an hour to prepare, because I had to go pull up my own carrots and dig up my own potatoes and then scrub them down. And make my white sauce. But if you already have potatoes and carrots handy, it won’t take you near that long to prepare it.

companystew

You will need:
1 lb stew beef sub, cut in pieces (I used chopped-up beef flavoured gluten steaks)
4 large potatoes, cut in chunks
4 medium carrots, cut in chunks
1 small onion, chopped
1 tsp salt
1 T tapioca flour
1 1/4 c white sauce (your favourite, or you can try my white sauce)
1 1/4 c water

Put gluten in bottom of crockpot. Layer on potatoes, carrots, and onion, also raw.

Next, combine the salt and tapioca flour and sprinkle on.

Drizzle soup and water over top. Cover and cook in crockpot on high for 5 hours. Should be rich and brown when done.

Tomorrow: Mexican Lasagna!

sig

Categories: challenges, crockpot, entrees, lunch, recipes, soup, vegan, vegan mofo, vegan mofo 2013 | Tags: , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Vegan Month of Food, Day 3: Company Stew

  1. That looks so hearty and tasty! I’m kind of envious that you can go pick your own carrots and potatoes, I would really like to be able to grow my own veggies someday but by the looks of my basil plant, I don’t see me being able to keep anything alive…at least the cat is doing ok 😉

    Like

    • Basil is hard, at least in my experience. Terribly hard to start from seed too. I have never had luck growing flowers but basic garden stuff seems to stay alive 🙂

      You could always grow a zucchini or other squash. Anybody can grow those! I still haven’t done my garden post, but we have some random volunteer squash that has gone completely ballistic. It’s taken over! Our pumpkins/spaghetti squash did the same. I have spaghetti squash climbing my raspberry trellis.

      Like

  2. Wow, I love that you had to go out and dig up your own potatoes!! Living the homesteader’s dream! Fresh potatoes are so delicious and amazing. I have an old crockpot from the thrift store, but I almost never use it. I’ve noticed a few vegan slow cooker books in the last few years… hmm!

    Like

    • I honestly don’t use mine that much, either. I cook beans or seitan in it once in a while, but that’s about it. I’d really like to use it more.

      It seems like so many of the vegan-suitable crockpot recipes call for canned beans, which seems to defeat the whole purpose of using the crockpot in the first place. Maybe I’m just being too picky. I haven’t been able to see the Vegan Slow Cooker cookbook to know what all is in there, though.

      Like

  3. Yum, this looks like a great autumn meal!

    Like

  4. This dish looks so good. I so miss a good stew that is not full of added fats. You white sauce is right up my alley. Thank you

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

declare the causes

i will tell the world

Creative Wending

cooking, crochet, and a few things inbetween

The World of YA

a podcast by and for YA readers

Vegan Needs

To Help you transition to the Vegan Lifestyle. Vegan beauty, Food, Reviews & More

the taste space

steam, bake, boil, shake!

Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

Plant-Based Food and Other Stories

The Vegan Cookbook Aficionado

Compassionate Eating For Everyone

Made of Stars

Simply vegan

veganinbrighton

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Storyfied Blog

we're all just stories in the end

Mostly Bliss

The healthiest response to life is joy

Eat.Plants.Live.

...a movement for living food and loving life

Recipe for Going Vegan

Vegan recipes for those new to vegan cooking

SISTER LEGUMES

Vegan sisters, a city apart

