Vegan Month of Food, Day 7: Almond Butter Sandwich

Here’s something insanely simple for Sandwich Tuesday.

I really miss peanut butter: its savoury, chunky awesomeness. Since not being able to have peanuts due to Lou Who’s intolerance, I’ve had to eat almond butter, which I’ve never liked all that much. It’s too much on the sweet side. I love almonds, but the butter just doesn’t appeal.

I get mine fresh-ground from the bulk section of Winco and I’ve taken to stirring a little salt in whenever I fill a new tub. The salt helps. Then I thought, “What if I added a little molasses and a little more salt?”

And ya know… this was just about ALMOST as good as peanut butter.

almondbuttersandwich

Here are the proportions I used:
1 T almond butter
1/4 tsp molasses
Pinch salt (if you use already-salted almond butter, you may want to omit adding extra salt. Your call.)

Mix almond butter, molasses, and salt thoroughly and spread on a slice of bread or half a bun. Top with sliced apples. Or really whatever you want. But I used sliced apples.

sig

Categories: challenges, lunch, recipes, sandwich, snacks, vegan, vegan mofo, vegan mofo 2013 | Tags: , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Vegan Month of Food, Day 7: Almond Butter Sandwich

  1. I love almond butter. And since I live with a peanut butter hater, I have no chance anyway:)

    Like

  2. Yummy sandwich! I like almond butter too. Another fun way to use it is to mix a little agave or maple syrup along with a little cocoa powder. Use it for spreading on bananas or apples.

    Like

  3. Although peanut butter will always reign supreme, I’m also a big fan of almond butter. I’ve never had it fresh though, I really need to try making my own at some point.

    Like

    • I’m learning to appreciate almond butter, slowly. I’ve been told you can make it in Vitamixes or Champion juicers, neither of which I have… but oh how tasty would that be to ROAST them first and then grind?????? I’m pretty sure the almonds in WinCo’s machine are raw.

      Like

Share Your Thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

In the Soup Together

A "Black Dove White Raven" Fansite

declare the causes

i will tell the world

Creative Wending

cooking, crochet, and a few things inbetween

The World of YA

a podcast by and for YA readers

Vegan Needs

Vegan Lifestyle. Vegan beauty, Food, Reviews & More

the taste space

steam, bake, boil, shake!

Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

Plant-Based Food and Other Stories

The Vegan Cookbook Aficionado

Compassionate Eating For Everyone

Made of Stars

Simply vegan

veganinbrighton

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Storyfied Blog

we're all just stories in the end

Mostly Bliss

The healthiest response to life is joy

Eat.Plants.Live.

...a movement for living food and loving life

