Musings on a Small Living Space

So, if you’ve been following my blog for any length of time, you know we are living in a 29′ trailer. (And if you didn’t know that, now you do.) I’ve posted previously about some of my space management here and here.

We’ve been living in this trailer since June of 2011, so it’s been over 2 years. As soon as it gets warm enough in the spring, we move over to the unfinished house at night for sleeping. It’s nice to be able to spread out that way. But it is inevitable that cold times will again come and it’ll be back to the trailer. I anticipate that this will be happening in about a month, since we got chilled out of the house in about mid-October last year.

So, we’ll embark upon Winter #3 in 232 square feet of living space for two busy little girls, two adults, and a cat. Let’s rehash the last three winters a little bit, shall we?

Winter #1

I am a pregnant, emotional, and volatile basketcase. Mr Pine Nut and I are in twin beds with GooGoo on the floor between us. But the house’ll be done by the time the baby’s born!

And sometimes my laundry room looked like this:

383078_10151173800620253_1674352944_n

And other times it looked like this:

393901_10151185524995253_1245391943_n

Winter #2

The baby has been born!! And the house is not finished. I’m no longer pregnant, but I’m more volcanic than Winter #1. Mr Pine Nut and GooGoo now occupy the twin beds, while Lou Who and I are out in the kitchen on the dinette bed (which means that Mr Pine Nut’s workspace had to be relocated to the table we use for eating). But the laundry room is now in the house (YAY YAY YAY).

So, here’s my projection for Winter #3.

I’m on medication. I’ve had therapy. I’m no longer a volcano, and my hope is that when I get off the medication I will continue to be in control, like a rational, normal human being.

The house isn’t finished; it’s going to be a long time before it is. The fact is, this is my life now, and I’m okay with it. Not just resigned, but really okay. Someday things will be different, but this is what it is now.

Part of my life is living most of my time in cramped quarters and cooking on 2 square feet of counterspace.

Part of my life is highstepping over toys on the floor and having all flat surfaces covered with hard drives, pots and pans, and drying plastic bags.

Part of my life is not having extra money to buy cashews and having to substitute sunflower seeds.

But I am blessed. I have a roof and a heater and cupboards that are overflowing with food, albeit simple food. I have two beautiful girls, and a cat to cuddle on cold nights. I have a hardworking husband who is there for us, and I would rather have him with less money than all the money in the world and a husband who didn’t care.

I’ve decided that I’m going to up our quality of life in the trailer this winter. When we first lived here, we were using our second-rate dishes and silverware. Last Thursday I decided ENOUGH. We’re using our GOOD dishes and our NICE silverware and our GLASSES instead of plastic tumblers of TACKY MISMATCHEDNESS. We’re going to hit this winter with style and finesse. Trailer dwellers are not automatically trashy, no matter what outward appearances may indicate.

And that is that.

sig

Categories: around the kitchen, Mrs Pine Nut | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Musings on a Small Living Space

  1. Are you guys building the house yourselves? If so, damn that’s impressive. We have enough trouble renovating stuff, let alone building it from scratch!
    Nothing wrong with trailer dwelling, although doing the laundry outdoors in the snow wouldn’t have been much fun! Glad you’re no longer frustrated and are now content. I like your idea of using the fancy stuff for everyday, I don’t know what the hell I’m saving that stuff for anyway, so I might as well use it too!

    Like

    • Well, sort of. We had someone do the framing, plumbing, and electrical. Hubby does what he can on his own as he has time, and of course money to buy stuff or pay people to do work is in short supply. So, yeah. I have hopes and dreams for the house, and I sure wish there was something I could do to speed up the process, but at this point there isn’t. So, I wait. 🙂

      Like

Share Your Thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

In the Soup Together

A "Black Dove White Raven" Fansite

declare the causes

i will tell the world

Creative Wending

cooking, crochet, and a few things inbetween

The World of YA

a podcast by and for YA readers

Vegan Needs

Vegan Lifestyle. Vegan beauty, Food, Reviews & More

the taste space

steam, bake, boil, shake!

Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

Plant-Based Food and Other Stories

The Vegan Cookbook Aficionado

Compassionate Eating For Everyone

Made of Stars

Simply vegan

veganinbrighton

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Storyfied Blog

we're all just stories in the end

Mostly Bliss

The healthiest response to life is joy

Eat.Plants.Live.

...a movement for living food and loving life

