Raspberry Bars

So, whilst I am feeling Completely Uninventive, I’m going to share this recipe that is from my growing-up years. We got it from our friend Ruth because I loved these bars SO much, so I have no idea where the recipe originally came from. The problem was, they were so, SO sweet that I’m pretty sure my mom only made them maybe twice.

They really are rather sickeningly sweet. But, if you’re serving a crowd of normal people, that works out because you can cut them into smaller pieces. (This plan doesn’t work so well if you’re serving a crowd of clones of, oh, ME.)

At any rate, because I do care about my health, here’s what I have started to do. I’m posting the recipe with its original full sugar content, but these are the two things I flip between to reduce the content: I either halve the sugar in the dough, or I use smushed-up fresh berries instead of jam. It’s the sugared dough + sugared fruit that is the lethal sugar wallop with these, so reducing one or the other is the key.

(If you want a super healthified version of these, check out my Breakfast Bars from MoFo last year.)

_MG_0386

I used cherry jam in this particular batch.

Ruth’s Raspberry Bars

3/4 c vegan margarine
1 c packed brown sugar
1 1/2 c flour
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 c oatmeal
1 10-oz jar of raspberry preserves (or any berry!) (I usually use more than this – 10oz is a pretty thin layer!)

Cream margarine and sugar until light and fluffy.

Add combined dry ingredients. Mix well.

Press half of the crumb mixture into greased 13×9 pan. Spread preserves. Sprinkle with remaining crumb mixture. Bake at 400 for 20-25 minutes.

Cool. Cut into bars.

***

Oh, and HAPPY ST PATRICK’S DAY. If you’re a linguist nerd like me, or just want to listen to someone speaking prolifically in Irish for around two hours, check out “No Béarla“.

And yes, yes I did schedule this post for 3:17 in the morning.

Beannacht.

sig

Categories: dessert, nut-free, recipes, vegan | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Raspberry Bars

  1. I think these sound inventive and delicious! Yum!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Cookbook Review: Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar | Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

Share Your Thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Eva Reads Books

gloriously daft, full of bookish nonsense

In the Soup Together

A "Black Dove White Raven" Fansite

declare the causes

i will tell the world

Creative Wending

cooking, crochet, and a few things inbetween

The World of YA

a podcast by and for YA readers

Vegan Needs

Vegan Lifestyle. Vegan beauty, Food, Reviews & More

the taste space

steam, bake, boil, shake!

Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

Plant-Based Food and Other Stories

The Vegan Cookbook Aficionado

Compassionate Eating For Everyone

veganinbrighton

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Storyfied Blog

we're all just stories in the end

Mostly Bliss

The healthiest response to life is joy

Eat.Plants.Live.

...a movement for living food and loving life

