Well, hello, Fall.

It’s been pretty cold around here lately. 26 in the morning. Still, I’ve always preferred cold. I’d prefer to cuddle up in blankets and turn up the heater any day over melting in rivers of sweat when it’s summertime.

I’m planning to make a potpie as my contribution to Thanksgiving dinner, so since I needed to cook up garbanzos for that anyway, I was thinking of making Isa’s cabbage soup. But I don’t have any cabbage. Then I saw a thing of red beans sitting out and thought, I WILL MAKE UP A SOUP RECIPE TODAY. I had a bunch of soup-appropriate odds and ends in my fridge, so I pulled all of them out.

Then I cast them into a pot, and there came out this soup.

soup

Start by sauteing the following in a little oil for a few minutes:
2c chopped onion
1 3/4 c chopped celery
4 cloves garlic
1T ginger, grated

Turn off heat and stir in:
3 carrots, cut however you want – I did coins
1.5 c cooked brown rice
2 c red beans
4 c garbanzo beans
8-10 c water (I did 10 but would do 8 next time, because I’m not a huge fan of broth)
2T mock chicken seasoning of choice

Bring to a boil and simmer until carrots reach desired tenderness (or lack thereof, if you’re a cooked carrot-phobe.)

Before serving, add:
1c chopped cilantro
Salt as needed

And then dig in.

sig

Categories: gluten-free, lunch, nut-free, recipes, soup, soy-free, vegan, vegetables | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Well, hello, Fall.

  1. Sounds perfect for a cold day! What mock chicken seasoning of you use?

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Art of Asymmetrical Warfare

Studying Where Colonialism and Asymmetrical Conflicts Intersect

Pitch Wars

The Official Site of #PitchWars & #PitMad Contests

Eva Reads Books

gloriously daft, full of bookish nonsense

In the Soup Together

A "Black Dove White Raven" Fansite

declare the causes

i will tell the world

Creative Wending

adventure in play

The World of YA

a podcast by and for YA readers

the taste space

steam, bake, boil, shake!

Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

Plant-Based Food and Other Stories

veganinbrighton

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Storyfied Blog

we're all just stories in the end