Pinterest Roundup

Admit it: if you have a Pinterest, you have boards upon boards of recipes pinned. I know I do.

Reality has set in and I’ve quit being so liberal about pinning new recipes to my boards lately, but there are some I’ve actually tried (imagine that!), so here’s a roundup of some of those for you, with my comments – some good, some bad.

Chickpeas with Roasted Cumin and Tomatoes : This was yum. One might argue that I didn’t REALLY make this recipe, because I didn’t use an Actual Clove and Cardamom, subbing ground instead, but whatevs. It was super good. I didn’t add the chilies; I added some cayenne powder afterwards to mine because I have two spicephobes in my house.

Kale-Garlic Waffles : These were fantastic. GooGoo even loved them. I can’t remember now what we ate ON them (if anything), but they were good just buttered and munched.

Hasselback Potatoes : Okay, these tasted really good, but they were way more work than it was worth. It was hard to not quite cut all the way to the bottom of the potato, plus it was very oil-laden. I’d rather just slice the potato all the way through and bake them that way.

Roasted Red Bell Pepper and Basil Penne : This was very labour intensive, but so, so worth it. Were I to do it again, I’d definitely make a huge batch of the stuff and freeze it, and that would make it a lot less work.

Brasilian Black Bean Soup : This is a staple soup at my house now.

Jellied Cranberry Sauce with Apple : This was a huge success last Thanksgiving. I’ve never made homemade cranberry sauce before, but you can’t get simpler than this and everyone loved it.

Screen Shot 2013-03-26 at 11.45.51 AM

This is Maggie’s photo, not mine.

Apple-Cranberry Bannock : This is so, so good. It’s like a scone on steroids. This is the one I chose to feature a photo of (because I’m just too lazy to go saving the images off the posts and reupload them here) because it’s amazing, and I think I’m going to make one for supper tonight.

sig

Categories: recipes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Share Your Thoughts!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Made of Stars

Simply vegan

veganinbrighton

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

The 3rd Chapter

Adventures in Life after Work

Book Snob

FOR DISCERNING READERS

Storyfied Blog

we're all just stories in the end

Jason and the Veganauts

and the Quest for the Vegan Golden Fleece

Mostly Bliss

The healthiest response to life is joy

anunrefinedvegan

unbleached, unprocessed, unrefined...and cruelty-free

SnarkyVegan

I may suck air but I eat real food.

Eat.Plants.Live.

...a movement for living food and loving life

Recipe for Going Vegan

Vegan recipes for those new to vegan cooking

SISTER LEGUMES

Vegan sisters, a city apart

TahiniToo

A vegan food, adventure, and photography blog

The Kitchen Operas℠

Vegetarian Whole Food Deliciousness

Ruskin Days

Where life is good and the food photography terrible

veggielawyer

powered by tofu

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 232 other followers

