Vegan MoFo 2015, Day 7: Film-Inspired Food

7 Make / eat some thing inspired by a book or film.

This is your warning. I’m incredibly immature. Read on if you want to, but don’t say I didn’t warn you. πŸ˜‰

One night, as a child, we had tacos for dinner, as we often did. My dad, for one reason or another, topped all of his taco fixings with a generous blob of refried beans.

“Mike, that looks like barf,” my mom said.

I have such a twisted sense of humour. I used to hate refried beans. Now I took great joy in them, because they looked like barf. Tasty, tasty barf.

All that being said, I just got back from camping late last night, and didn’t have time to recreate anything for this post, but as I made lunch today, the only thing I could think about was a great big bowl full of refried beans to replicate Barf’s summer snack in Spaceballs.

Image from jmbmommy on flickr

Image from jmbmommy on flickr

I know. I’m so mature*. But I honestly LOVE refried beans because they look like barf. I love them so much I’ll eat them cold out of a can. If I’m not lazy, I’ll warm them up so they actually look like barf, instead of a can shape with ridges.

Mmm.

___

*Search hashtag foodthatlookslikepoop on Instagram. I’ve been threatening to do Fecal Fridays and feature food that looks like poop for some time now. So… yeah.

sig

Categories: vegan mofo, vegan mofo 2015 | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo 2015, Day 7: Film-Inspired Food

  1. Happy Vegan MoFo to ya! Great place you have here! LOVE the movie connection! Nice post!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Art of Asymmetrical Warfare

Studying Where Colonialism and Asymmetrical Conflicts Intersect

Pitch Wars

The Official Site of #PitchWars & #PitMad Contests

Eva Reads Books

gloriously daft, full of bookish nonsense

In the Soup Together

A "Black Dove White Raven" Fansite

declare the causes

i will tell the world

Creative Wending

adventure in play

The World of YA

a podcast by and for YA readers

the taste space

steam, bake, boil, shake!

Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

Plant-Based Food and Other Stories

veganinbrighton

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Storyfied Blog

we're all just stories in the end