Vegan MoFo 2015, Day 9: Retro Recipe!

9 Most retro recipe.

My first year doing MoFo my theme was “veganise my 1978 Betty Crocker cookbook” (this was before I ever heard of Betty Goes Vegan!) You can read all those posts here.

I’m going to spotlight one of them here, though: the chickpea rice casserole.

cat and casserole

This casserole is like… quintessential comfort food to me, and made vegan it’s Adventist comfort food. (Okay, so to make it classically Adventist, it would need to be made with cream of mushroom soup and topped with cheddar cheese, but we don’t use those things in my house. ;-)) It’s super easy to mix up and throw in a crockpot and take to a potluck, and people, I just LOVE IT. It tastes so good. I’ve made it many times since originally posting about it, and I hope you’ll try it too!

[Footnote: With camping this past weekend I was truant on a couple of posts, but I have good intentions to fill out those prompts, even if late! Here’s hoping.]

sig

Categories: vegan mofo, vegan mofo 2015 | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo 2015, Day 9: Retro Recipe!

  1. Your casserole looks so good; love the little kitty peeking at it! πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. fairlyoddtofumom

    Just discovered your delightful blog through MoFo and I LOVE it!
    In fact I went through and read, like practically every post.
    As a lifelong Adventist (but only vegan about ten years), and having raised three kiddos with many of the same ideas and principles, I love the perspective – love the occasional “Adventist” references in various posts that others might not get, and of course, the recipes!! And your in the same general area of the country I am, so I actually recognize brand names and locations and whatnot.
    Oh! And you reviewed several of my very favorite cookbooks too, very cool!
    This is my first year NOT doing MoFo since it began, I think, and I really, REALLY miss it, but life is just too crazy this year, so I’ll live vicariously through other people’s posts!
    I followed you on Twitter too (I swear I’m not a stalker!!)

    Like

    • Welcome! I’m happy to know you enjoyed the blog! πŸ˜€ I didn’t do MoFo last year because I was busy getting ready for concerts, and this year I’m barely scraping by. September is the craziest month of the year in this household!

      Like

Share Your Thoughts!

Blog at WordPress.com.

Art of Asymmetrical Warfare

Studying Where Colonialism and Asymmetrical Conflicts Intersect

Pitch Wars

The Official Site of #PitchWars & #PitMad Contests

Eva Reads Books

gloriously daft, full of bookish nonsense

In the Soup Together

A "Black Dove White Raven" Fansite

declare the causes

i will tell the world

Creative Wending

adventure in play

The World of YA

a podcast by and for YA readers

the taste space

steam, bake, boil, shake!

Too Cheap for Pine Nuts

Plant-Based Food and Other Stories

veganinbrighton

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Storyfied Blog

we're all just stories in the end